Fine5 Dance Theatre’s productions in IFMC’s Golden Fund in Vitebsk.

This year, the IFMC (International Festival of Modern Choreography) was held already for the 20th time in Vitebsk. The contest-festival of contemporary choreography, which was called „White Dog” in 1987, was renamed IFMC in 1992 and has become the star event of the development of contemporary choreography of the countries of the former Soviet Union, and the most prestigious contest in the region, which includes every year performers also from several European countries, China and the United States. Many laureates of the previous years were invited to the festival’s jubilee event this year, as well as new contemporary dance groups. At the opening show, the festival’s organizing committee, presided by the festival’s director M. Romanovskaja and by the Ballet Master in Chief of Minsk Opera and Ballet Theatre V. Jelizarjev, announced the laureates of the „Golden Fund of the Festival”, who were as follows: N. Ogrõzhkov’s contemporary dance school from Moscow, the J. Panfilov ballet theatre from Perm, the department of contemporary dance of the Academy of Arts of Beijing from China, „TAD” theatre from Grodno (Belarus) and Fine5 Dance Theatre from Tallinn. Fine5 Dance Theatre received a special recognition for its outstanding work performed at the festival (choreography by R. Nõmmik and T. Ollesk) and the awards won during the period 1992 – 2006. Fine5 has won the I prize in Vitebsk for the production „Sandwater” (2001), the II prize for „Travellers” (1992), „Ammaduabuu”(1993), „Two Trains” (2003), „One spot. Two shadows” (2006), and the critics’ award for „1994” (1996) and „Paths” (1999). This year’s jubilee performances of IFMC took place in Vitebsk from November 20th – 26th. Fine5  presented the new version of R. Nõmmik’s „Wanderers” during the laureates’ night and T. Kitti’s (Finland) „24 hours” during the full-length performances’ night.  Fine5 Dance Theatre was represented in Vitebsk by the choreographers-dancers T. Ollesk and R. Nõmmik, and dancers L. Kvelstein, D. Kruus, S. Soorsk, R. Saukas and G. Preegel. The theatre’s trip to Belarus was supported by the Foundation of the Cultural Endowment of Estonia.